Louth Town Council - Working with the community to make Louth a better place to live and work

The Council

Louth Town Council has twenty-one councillors elected for a period of four years. There are 7 wards in the town for which Councillors are elected to serve and these are North Holme Ward, St. Mary’s Ward, St. James’ Ward, St. Michael’s Ward, Priory Ward, Trinity Ward and St. Margaret’s Ward – Find out more about the Wards.

Louth Town Council has four statutory Committees covering its current responsibilities, these are:

  • Governance and Finance 
  • Planning
  • Community Resources
  • Personnel 

Meetings take place generally every other week on Tuesday evenings. For a full list of meetings please go to the Meeting Dates

The Mayor is the Chair of Louth Town Council for the year. Find out more about what duties the Mayor undertakes.

Council Meeting Room

Louth Town Council is here to represent the people of Louth and we strongly listen to your concerns and do everything we can to deal with them or we liaise with East Lindsey District Council or Lincolnshire County Council

Our Councillors are widely involved in all aspects of the community and we have representatives on many local groups and organisations. The Council is responsible for many assets in Louth, find out more about the Council’s services and assets we maintain on the community’s behalf.

Louth Town Council is currently aiming towards Quality Council status which would visibly enhance and improve the role of the Town Council for the overall benefit of Louth. Louth Town Council was a Borough Council prior to the local government re-organisation in 1974, after which most of the important tasks that it performed were transferred to East Lindsey District Council. Louth Town Council is diligently working towards attaining Quality Council status because we believe that once we have gained this accreditation we may be able to regain some of the tasks that we were responsible for previously and this would broaden our service delivery to Louth