Louth Town Council - Working with the community to make Louth a better place to live and work

Councillor Darren Hobson, Mayor of Louth 2020-21

Online Town Council Meeting and New Mayor

Following the introduction of new legislation recently, to assist councils in continuing their operations during the Covid-19 pandemic, Louth Town Council had their first virtual ‘conference’ meeting using the Zoom platform on 19th May 2020.
Nineteen of the twenty-one Town Councillors attended the Annual Town Council Meeting, which is held every year in May, and includes as the first items of business, the election of the Louth Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the forthcoming year.
Councillor Darren Hobson, who has been a Town Councillor for five years for St. Mary’s Ward, was duly elected by fellow councillors to be the new Mayor of Louth, and Councillor Jill Makinson-Sanders was voted in as the Deputy Mayor.
Councillor Hobson thanked Councillors for electing him to represent Louth Town Council during the difficult year ahead, and following the meeting he gave thanks to Councillor Fran Treanor (Mayor for 2019/20) for the incredibly important job he had carried out, particularly during the last three months, in guiding the Council and the town through the effects of the Coronavirus crisis.